ICIAM 2023, the 10th International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics, will be held at Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan on August 20-25, 2023.https://iciam2023.org
The call for minisymposia has been announced. The closing date for submissions of proposals is December 23, 2022. For more details, please see "Call for Minisymposia": https://iciam2023.org/1030
Contact address
Shin'ichi Oishi
Congress Director, ICIAM 2023
Professor, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan
e-mail: oishi@waseda.jp
Secretary e-mail: secretary@iciam2023.org



Dear Presidents and Representatives of ICIAM member societies.
     Today is the first day of a brand new year. Let me wish you and your family a very Happy New Year of 2022! And also wish your society all the best in 2022!.
     2021 was a difficult year for us. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the board meeting of ICIAM was held online on October 30th. At that meeting,the Board made many important decisions, including the followings:Liliane Basso Barichello (nominated by SBMAC) was elected as an Officer-at-Large of ICIAM, and will serve a six-year term until 2027. 
Two societies, the Hong Kong Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (HKSIAM)and the Serbian Scientific Mathematical Society (SSMS) were accepted as new members of ICIAM. The board also approved the list of invited speakers for ICIAM-2023 proposed by the chair of theScientific Program Committee, Prof. Yasumasa Nishiura. Finally, the bid from the Royal Dutch Mathematical Society (KWG) and the Dutch Platform for Mathematics (PWN) for hosting the ICIAM 2027 Congress in The Hague was approved.
   Our secretary, Sven Leyffer was elected as the President-Elect of SIAM. Let us congratulate him with warm hearts!  He will be the President of SIAM 
starting January 1st 2023. That means that ICIAM will need to elect a newsecretary before the end of 2022. Hence, I am asking member societies of ICIAM
to nominate candidates. Nominations should be sent to the President(president@iciam.org) or the Secretary (secretary@iciam.org) before June 15th,
2022. When a nomination is made, please provide a CV (at most four pages)of the candidate together with a written statement on his/her aspirations 
and visions for ICIAM.
    The COVID-19 pandemic is not over yet. The Omicron wave is effecting the world heavily, and also impacting our plans for 2022. I wish all of you and your families a safe, healthy, and a very Happy New Year!
Ya-xiang Yuan
ICIAM President
Meeting of ICIAM Officers and member societies in Latin America: July 27, 2021
Web Page: https://iciam.org/


Call for nominations for the ICIAM Prizes 2023
The ICIAM Prize Committee for 2023 calls for nominations for the six ICIAM Prizes to be awarded in 2023 (the Collatz Prize, the Lagrange Prize, the Maxwell Prize, the Pioneer Prize, the Su Buchin Prize, and the Industry Prize). Each ICIAM Prize has its own special character, but each one is truly international in character.
Nominations are therefore welcomed from every part of the world. A nomination should take into account the specifications for a particular prize (see http://www.iciam.org/iciam-prizes and see also below), and should contain the following information:
  • Full name and address of person nominated
  • Web home page if any.
  • Name of particular ICIAM Prize.
  • Justification for nomination (cite nominator's reason for considering candidate to be deserving, including explanations of the scientific and practical influence of the candidate's work and publications).
  • Proposed citation (concise statement about the outstanding contribution in fewer than 250 words).
  • CV of the nominee.
  • 2-3 letters of support from experts in the field and/or 2-3 names of experts to be consulted by the Prize Committee.
  • Name and contact details of the proposer.
Nominations should be made electronically through the website https://iciamprizes.org/. The deadline for nominations is September 1st, 2021.
Please contact president@iciam.org if you have any question regarding the nomination procedure.
ICIAM Prize committee for 2023
Committee Chair:   Ya-xiang Yuan
Barbara Wohlmuth (Chair of Collatz Prize Subcommittee)
Leah Edelstein-Keshet (Chair of Lagrange Prize Subcommittee)
Gang Bao (Chair of Maxwell Prize Subcommittee)
Alfredo Bermudez (Chair of Pioneer Prize Subcommittee)
Lois Curfman McInnes (Chair of Su Buchin Prize Subcommittee)
Nira Chamberlain (Chair of Industry Prize Subcommittee)
ICIAM, the International Council for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, is the world organization for applied and industrial mathematics. Its members are mathematical societies based in more than 30 countries. For more information, see the Council's web page at http://www.iciam.org/.
ICIAM Collatz Prize
The Collatz Prize was established to provide international recognition to individual scientists under 42 years of age for outstanding work on industrial and applied mathematics. A recipient's 42nd birthday must not occur before 1st January of the year in which the prize is presented.
ICIAM Lagrange Prize
The Lagrange Prize was established to provide international recognition to individual mathematicians who have made an exceptional contribution to applied mathematics throughout their careers.
ICIAM Maxwell Prize
The Maxwell Prize was established to provide international recognition to a mathematician who has demonstrated originality in applied mathematics.
ICIAM Pioneer Prize
The Pioneer Prize was established for pioneering work introducing applied mathematical methods and scientific computing techniques to an industrial problem area or a new scientific field of applications.
ICIAM Su Buchin Prize
Established in 2003 to provide international recognition of an outstanding contribution by an individual in the application of mathematics to emerging economies and human development, in particular at the economic and cultural level in developing countries. This includes efforts to improve mathematical research and teaching in those countries.
ICIAM Industry Prize
The ICIAM Industry Prize was established to provide international recognition to scientists who have made outstanding contributions to innovative mathematical techniques with demonstrated impact in Industry.